ETHIOPIA Goma - Mana Mufti Honey

ETHIOPIA Goma - Mana Mufti Honey

Regular price
€12,00
Regular price
Sale price
€12,00
Unit price
per 
Availability
Sold out
Tax included.

Mana Mufti coffee is coming from different farmers of Goma district. Mana Mufti is the name of Mustapha Mohamed Ali’s drying station,where farmers bring their cherries in order to prepare them following honey process. Marjorie, our Belco’s agronomist from Salvador, came in Ethiopia several times to teach honey process to different producers, as Mohamed Ali..

MANA MUFTI

Mana Mufti is the name of Mustapha Mohamed Ali's drying station. The place is a family one. Mohamed Ali’s father used to have here his coranic school during many years. This school gave the name to that place. Mana, in oromo langage, means house and mufti names a Muslim religious leader, title held by Mustapha’s father.
The previous school is still visible in the station.
Now, local farmers bring their cherries to Mana Mufti and Mustapha and his team prepare them following honey process. Mustapha have been applying this process since few years. Marjorie, the Belco’s agronomist from Salvador, came to Ethiopia to train producers to this process. Mustapha quickly showed his enthusiasm for this way of doing, a process more respectful for the environment, using less water, and which gives a beautiful cup.

The coffee called Mana Mufti is produced by several small farmers. These producers cultivate small plots of land around Mohamed Ali's drying station, and put their production in common to create this nice forest coffee.
Coffee has been produced here since many centuries. Farmers got traditional know-how and work to perpetuate this agricultural heritage. The coffee trees of this area come from the wild forest of Choche, the place that remains as the place where coffee was discovered. The coffee lands are located around 2000 m. Farmers cultivate here following an polyculture model of agriculture mixing food crop and commercial production. Coffee is a major crop in this area and the peasants are working to maintain its high quality.
 

Flavor notes Sweet, coconut, macadamia
Altitude 2000m
Area Goma
Producer Several small producers
Variety Heirloom
Process Honey

Net Orders Checkout

Item Price Qty Total
Subtotal €0,00
Shipping
Total

Shipping Address

Shipping Methods

ETHIOPIE Goma - Mana Mufti Honey

ETHIOPIE Goma - Mana Mufti Honey

Prix normal
€12,00
Prix normal
Prix réduit
€12,00
Prix unitaire
par 
Disponibilité
Épuisé
Taxes incluses.

Ce café de forêt est collecté auprès de différents producteurs du district de Goma. Ces fermiers apportent leurs cerises à Mana Mufti, la station de séchage de Mustapha Mohamed Ali. C’est ici que Mustapha et ses équipes préparent un café honey. Ils suivent les process enseignés il y a quelques années par Marjorie, agronome Belco en charge de l’agence du Salvador, venue plusieurs fois en Éthiopie.

MANA MUFTI

Mana Mufti est le nom de la station de séchage de Mustapha Mohamed Ali. C’est surtout le lieu qui a abrité de longues années l’école coranique que le père de Mustapha a dirigée, histoire locale qui donne son nom au lieu. Mana signifie maison en Oromo, moufti étant la désignation d’un dignitaire religieux musulman, titre qu’avait le père de Mustapha. Le bâtiment de cette école est toujours visible au centre de la station.

C’est ici que les fermiers des environs viennent apporter leurs cerises, qui sont ensuite préparées en honey process. Mustapha et ses équipes appliquent depuis quelques années maintenant ce procédé. Marjorie, agronome de Belco s’était rendue en Éthiopie pour former les producteurs à cette méthode. Mustapha a rapidement montré son engouement pour cette méthode plus respectueuse de l’environnement car moins gourmande en eau. Il s’évertue depuis plusieurs années à produire un café de forêt honey toujours plus qualitatif.

Le café Mana Mufti est le fruit du travail de plusieurs petits producteurs. Ces fermiers qui travaillent des parcelles dans les environs de la station de séchage de Mohamed Ali ont mis leur savoir-faire pour permettre la collecte de ces belles cerises. Le café est ici produit depuis plusieurs siècles, par des paysans aux savoir-faire traditionnels, qui perpétuent un héritage agricole régional. Les caféiers de cette zone sont issus de la forêt sauvage de Choche, que la légende retient comme le lieu d’origine du café. Les parcelles exploitées sont situées à environ 2000 m d’altitude. Elles sont mises en valeur par les paysans selon un modèle de polyculture qui mêle productions vivrières et commerciales. Le café est une culture majeure de cette zone et les paysans s’attellent à en maintenir la réputation.

 

Notes Sucré, noix de coco, cannelle
Altitude 2000m
Région Goma
Producteur Multiples
Variétés Heirloom 
Traitement Honey

Net Orders Checkout

Item Price Qty Total
Subtotal €0,00
Shipping
Total

Shipping Address

Shipping Methods